America’s Sweetheart Dream: A DCC Reality

Growing up, my dad made it very clear that the only acceptable football team my family could root for is the Dallas Cowboys. My dad played college ball and was a die hard Cowboys fan so that just translated to our family with ease. Our first dog’s name was even Dallas Star- it was a serious commitment to America’s team from a Canadian household. My dad and my brother would watch games together and I’d always look forward to the halftime shows where I could watch the cheerleaders perform their routines. My earliest memories are of me sitting in front of the television, being captivated by the Dallas Cowboy Cheerleaders. They were beautiful, young, and could dance their hearts out. Their talent astounded me, and I wanted to be just like them. I’d spend my weekends learning their routines and perform them for my family.

My dad also coached high school football, so he would pick my brother and I up from our elementary school and bring us to his practices. My brother would stand on the field with the coaches and the team and I’d sit on the bleachers watching the cheerleaders practice. They’d let me play with their pompoms and learn their routines with them. They even gave me a child-sized uniform that I wore ALL of the time. I was a cheerleader for Halloween for probably three years in a row. It was all very Friday Night Lights-esque.

When I reached high school I tried out for my school’s team and cheered at the high school level for 4 years. I also competed for 4 years after high school with a club team, and coached my own teams too. I loved cheerleading, and I still do. I can’t wait to have a little girl so I can enrol her in cheer and gymnastics classes… yep — I plan to be that mom! I still have an appreciation for the Dallas Cowboys football team, I am a self-proclaimed fan. But my true interest still lies with the cheerleaders. Since they have their television show on CMT I’ve been following along with the journey of many of them, and you can keep up with them via social media relatively easily. That’s how I came across Sydney McArthur and her company Live Love Game Day. I have a few pieces from her line and I have to admit, they are comfortable AND fashionable. Check out my last post for specific details. I was able to get in touch with Sydney and have a chat about her process, and she’s nothing short of inspiring, and so seriously sweet!

1. What inspired you to start your business?

As a Dallas Cowboys Cheerleader for 7 seasons (2008-2015), I truly spent most of my days on the field – at practice, at games, at appearances, etc. The field was my home away from home. As a leader on the team, I decided to create a tee that said, “Home Is Where the Field Is” as a gift for the girls in my group in August of 2014 (for the first pre-season game that year). The girls ended up loving it, and the next thing I knew, other girls on the team and former cheerleaders were wanting one of these tees. I decided to get a big order together, and the list kept growing and growing and growing. Live Love Gameday was born, and the rest is history! 🙂

img_0583-570x708

2. Walk me through the step-by-step process that you went through to get to where you are today. What was the first thing you did? Next?

I started with a website. My brother is an incredible web designer and coder, so he helped me out. My husband has a job of his own, of course, but he really helps me out with everything. He is such a business man! I only had one design in the beginning, “Home Is Where the Field Is” for football season, but I was happy with it and excited to see where it went. A few months later, an NBA dance team contacted me asking if I could make their team the same shirt but with a basketball on it, so “Home Is Where the Court Is” was released. From there, I released “Home Is Where the Ice Is” for hockey, “Home Is Where the Field Is” for baseball and so much more. We now have over 50 styles available online, and we try to release a new style every few days. Live Love Gameday also launched a wholesale website this past year, which is very exciting because LLG is now popping up in boutiques all around the U.S.!

img_5901-570x708

3. Where do you create the merchandise for your business? What gives you the ideas?

Ideas and inspiration come from everywhere! We usually try to come up with sports-related quotes that are unique and original to our company as well as little romantic and flirty at the same time. The other day my hubby was sitting there, and we were just chatting about new ideas and baseball season. All of a sudden the words, “The Best Part of My Day Is Spending Nine Innings With You” came to mind, and our next design was released. We design, create and ship everything out of our warehouse in Dallas, Texas!

img_4355-595x743

4. If a kid walked up to asking for your advice and you only had a few minutes to give ‘em your best tip, what would it be?

Dream big and have goals, but be open to new things that may come your way. I always thought that I would open up a dance studio in my home town. Each day I worked hard to achieve that goal by dancing classical ballet three or more hours each day after school and six days a week. When you have a goal, it is important to work hard towards that goal and stay focused. while more importantly enjoying it and loving every second of it. Then, life threw me a new plan. I never imagined I would become a Dallas Cowboys Cheerleader for 7 seasons, a Dallas Mavericks Dancer for 1 season and launch a women’s sports-themed clothing line that has grown into a a pretty big company. I now have new dreams and goals that I work hard towards each day. Never let anyone tell you that you cannot do something. Every success starts small, so stay focused, keep working hard and you will succeed!

img_1809-595x743

It was so awesome getting to chat with Sydney. There’s just something so inspiring about women who have the motivation to make things happen. Some of my personal favourites from her store are the JESUS & SUNDAYS & FAMILY & FOOTBALL tee, and the I vow to always love you even during soccer season tee because my future hubby is a soccer player.

img_1357-570x708

PROMO!

Sydney and I have teamed up to offer my followers 10% off your total purchase. Use code mrsagbons10 when shopping on LIVE LOVE GAME DAY

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

