Mrs. Agbons’ re-Journey for Uplifting and Inspiring the Soul

Lately, I’ve lost sight of what I stand for. Things have been pretty chaotic over here with the wedding coming up rather quickly and work being increasingly overwhelming. You reach a certain time in life when things just start falling into place and so you forget what you’ve been working towards. Trust me, I went through the struggle! For years I worked towards obtaining my degrees, locking down my career, moving forward in my relationship, and feeling financially secure. There were many long, tireless nights spent fine tuning certain aspects of my life. I prayed, I meditated, I affirmed, I worked my ASS off (pardon my French) and about a year and a half ago, it all seemed to shift into a fine balance. I had finished my schooling ( though I still hope to go back and finish my PhD), secured my dream job, gotten engaged, and found some financial security in the midst of it all (let’s leave school loans out of this for the time being – note my ironic tone). In feeling that life has been falling into place, I lost sight of the motivators that have always been important to me. And so this February, I’m making a conscious effort to bring three motivators back into my life. Because no matter how great life seems to be, there’s always room for improvement!

1. Meditation

I’ve always been a firm believer in the power of meditation and prayer. I believe that God and the Universe are listening to us at all times and what you are meditating on and praying about will always come to affirmation if you truly want it to. Also, daily meditation lifts the shackles on your soul and allows you to feel part of a greater scheme. I meditated for an entire year on the book “Journey to the Heart” by Melody Beattie. It inspired me to unlock my creativity (I started this blog in the time I was using this), and understand greater purposes in life. Get your copy here through Amazon. I promise it will make a difference in your life. I plan to start my 365 day re-journey on February 1.

51xtjujll7l-_sx371_bo1204203200_

2. Yoga

Yoga used to be hand in hand with my daily prayers and meditation. I used to go to Moksha Yoga, I love using their hot room to destress and unwind. I also would watch videos on YouTube that I could complete on my own at home when I didn’t have the time to get down to the studio. With the business of life, I’ve noticed I haven’t quite had the time for anything! I have really disappointed myself with my lack of motivation in this feat, and so starting February 1, I’ll be doing Yoga at least twice a week as part of my re-journey. Here is a link to Yoga with Adriene that I used last year. She’s such a great motivator and allows you to have your own pace when perfecting your practice, and you don’t even have to leave your home!

3. Running

I don’t know if you remember, but last year I took up running and I was committed to it. I never considered myself a runner but I decided to try it and although I was never quick, it really helped to heal my soul. I would meditate during my runs and I found my stamina was building over time. I started looking forward to my runs and having that time to myself. I’d either run the track at work, go outside, or the treadmill at my gym. The great thing about running is that you can do it anytime anywhere and there are no judgements as you are able to go at your own pace. I haven’t run for a long time now, and as much as I hate the fact that I’ll have to start all over, I’m excited to begin again. I plan on running at least 10 kilometres a week throughout February. You should try and do the same!

Follow my journey on my Instagram @MrsAgbons for daily and weekly updates. If you choose to journey with me, use the hashtag #MrsAReJourney so we can share in this together!

Leave a Reply

