Take My Whole Life, Too: Being Engaged in your Engagement

On July 8, 2017 I will marry my best friend. As cliche as that sounds, it is undoubtedly the truth. I met my fiancé while in undergrad at the University library. He asked if he could sit with me and we became fast friends which quickly turned into more. From there we have grown together remarkably: each of us went on to individually do postgrad work both near and far and through it all we have been steadfast in our love. We climbed our way into adulthood, me out of my early twenties and him into his thirties while supporting each other’s changes and missteps throughout the journey. With this entry into “real” adulthood came the maturity we lacked in the former part of our relationship and so it helped us to enjoy each other more. Gone were the days of incessant, pointless tiffs and teary arguments. Instead we began to truly enjoy our time together and relish in the moments we were experiencing as two people madly in love. I would not go back and change the early stages of our relationship because it taught me the importance and impact of growing together instead of apart.

In the Old Testament, Song of Solomon says “I have found the one whom my soul loves” (3:4) when talking about his unyielding love for Queen Sheba. The mention of the word soul has always resonated with me as I believe the true meaning of being in love is allowing yourself to be captivated by the soul of another instead of their physicality or personality. The soul is the immortal essence of a living being, it is a part of us that continues to live on in the afterlife. My soul will forever be intertwined with my finance’s. We are a part of each other in the most splendid way that is hard for others to understand unless they too have felt or feel this way about another human being. It is truly the most lovely sensation I have ever felt, I will protect our love come what may and I know he will do the same.

I once read that “the Ego says ‘once everything falls into place, I will find peace’. And the Spirit says: ‘once I find peace, everything will fall into place’.” This rings so true in our relationship because once we let go of trying to make everything perfect we found peace in truly being ourselves and so everything worked itself out without any force. I will now issue another cliche: my fiancé has taught me so much not just about myself but about others as well. When we met I was a fast paced, easy way out, shortcut kind of girl. He taught me to enjoy the process and take time in what I am doing in order to grow from every experience. For this lesson I am forever grateful. Through his eyes I have learned to see the beauty in almost everything and take time for myself. I have learned to give more than I receive and not to hold grudges against those who have done me wrong. From these lessons I began to understand the true importance of meditation and energy and how it impacts relationships with those around you. These are life’s greatest treasures if you can master them.

I cannot wait to begin our lives as husband and wife in just one short year. Yet until then I will be enjoying the process of getting there just as I have enjoyed the process of getting here. Our relationship will continue to change and mould over the years and I am excited to see what is to come in our future. I will continue taking solace in our soulful journey and pray for a bountiful future blessed with many children and buckets of laughter. Right now I am in the prime of my life and I get to share that with my best friend so what more could I ask for? I am happiest now and with the right attitude and affirmations things will only continue to grow and flourish. This is my love story, what’s yours? I’d love to hear about it in the comment section below!

Leave a Reply

