Turn the Page, Embrace the Moment: My Favourite Reads & Summer Hopefuls

Reading has always been a favourite pastime of mine. It symbolizes a break from the mundane and an escape from reality. Whether I am slipping away for a few minutes during a busy day, or taking the time to dedicate a specific while to a piece of writing, I am allowing myself to be taken to a place apart from my current situation. Since I can remember reading has been an important hobby of mine. Even during my busiest hours I always have a book or two on the go. However, summer vacation has always been a true representation of prime reading time. I get drunk on the stories of beautiful protagonists and rugged antagonists. There is a certain intimacy that develops between me and the characters who live on the pages of these stories. I become infatuated with these tales. I can forget about my worries and allow myself to feel empathy towards the character’s in these books. When I was in school (elementary through undergrad) I can distinctly remember yearning for the summertime so I could have time to read for leisure. Even when I worked through my summers during my grad student days, I always carved out the time to read for nothing but pleasure alone. Now that I am a teacher, summer vacation still symbolizes reading. Today I am sharing my favourite books and upcoming summer reads, maybe these books can be your summer reading inspiration too!

My favourite novels:

1.  A Thousand Splendid Suns by Kahled Hosseini

A novel about mothers and daughters and the role of women in Afghan society. It follows the intertwining of two lives and how leaning on each other can build you back up from the rubble.

2. Parable of the Sower by Octavia Butler

A science fiction novel set in a post-apocolypitic future. The protagonist is “hyper empathetic” and builds a new community based on a new religion when her current reality is depleted.

3. One and Only by Emily Giffin

One of my lighter reads, but I love Giffin for the sole purpose. One and Only focuses on a young woman who is searching for herself and ends up following her heart instead of doing what is expected of her.

4. Most Wanted by Lisa Scottline

A suspense novel about women doing what is right for them and their children when confronted with an ethical and moral dilemma. You will not see the twists and turns in this novel coming!

5. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

I was captivated by this novel. It is a psychological thriller following three very different women on their pursuit for the truth in tragedy.

6. Pretty Girls by Karin Slaughter

I will warn you that this novel is quite graphic in nature. If you can get past the guts and gore, you will find yourself enjoying a suspense thriller about the relationship of sisters and many twists and turns. You won’t be able to put it down!

My Upcoming Summer Reads:

1. Every Fifteen Minutes by Lisa Scottline

Does a psychologist go to police over what a patient has told him, or does he follow patient-doctor confidentiality? Is it too late?

2. First Comes Love by Emily Giffin

A story about family, love, and following your heart — again, this is why I love Giffin.

3. Promise Not To Tell by Jennifer McMahon

A mystery novel about what happens when a woman returns home to take care of her ailing mother and finds history repeating itself.

4. The Girl Without a Name by Sandra Block

A novel about memory and forgetting and keeping secrets of unexpected friends.

What are some of your favourite reads or maybe something you are looking forward to reading? Comment below, I’d love to hear about them!

Leave a Reply

