Twinkle Twinkle Little Star, Do You Know How Loved You Are?: Planning a Baby Bump Brunch

Right now at work we have more than five pregnant teachers! We joke that there’s something in the water but really… is there? The growing bumps of these women are just too sweet to handle at times, and being able to scope out their maternity wear has been fun and exciting. Each woman is having her second child, except for one who will be delivering her first child, a boy, this September. This is such an exhilarating time for all the moms-to-be, but also a scary time for a first time mother. There are so many unknowns to her right now, so many what-ifs and how comes. So to make this time in her life a little extra special, and to ease her mind a little, I decided to throw her a Surprise Baby Bump Brunch in our staffroom at school. This was easier said than done, and it wasn’t easy keeping such a big secret from such a close friend! With the help of some other teachers we were able to flawlessly pull off this low key bump brunch and surprise the mommy-to-be. Read below to find out what went into my planning process!

I went back and forth with the idea of playing games, and in the end we decided against it. I thought it would be nice for the ladies to just come in, eat, and enjoy each other’s company instead of being bothered by games. However, during the planning process I did create these non-intrusive games just in case we ended up wanting to play games that wouldn’t take too much time. DontSay

BellyTwine

I also hand-made fun banners to hang that would add sweet little touches during to the bump brunch. This time, I found free sign cutouts using Pinterest and bought card stock from Staples. However, in the past I’ve used a program on my MacBook called Pages to create my own cutouts. I think that banners and signs are an easy way to add something special to any event I’m throwing. For this baby shower, I cut out a onesie & bowtie banner (pictured above in my Featured Image), a Dr. Seuss sign reading “Little Man” and a triangle banner saying “Boy oh Boy” because she is having a teeny baby boy.  You will also need string to hang them; I like using a thick yarn you can buy at Walmart or Michaels.

FullSizeRenderFullSizeRender

Lastly was my food preparation. I decided to order everything and get it catered in instead of making it myself. It was to save time since this was a work event and everyone had work to do anyway. We got our food from Costco and Tim Hortons. Because it was a brunch theme, we went with bagels, croissants, muffins, cookies, fruits, veggies etc. Something fun I did to add to the buffet style was making little place cards for the food. Obviously everyone knew what the food was, but it added a special little touch to the all around experience.  I made these using the Pages program for Mac again. The font I used is one I downloaded online, it’s called “DHDSkinny” and can be found here:  Hello Font

InstasizeImageInstasizeImage-3

I also created a Morning Brunch Punch for the ladies to enjoy. I used one of those glass dispensers and bought blue cups for them to drink in. The recipe is easy! See below:

Ingredients:

  • 1 Carton of No Pulp Orange Juice (1L)
  • 1 Bottle of Welch’s White Grape Juice (64 oz)
  • 1 Litre of 7-Up (buy a 2 litre and use only half)
  • 1 Orange for garnish

Empty your carton of orange juice and white grape juice into container, add in about half your 2 litre bottle of 7-Up, add orange slices for garnish and voila… you have a tasty Morning Brunch Punch!

Unknown

And there you have it! My easy Baby Bump Brunch planning guide! The best part about the day is that my friend was truly surprised and she was able to feel appreciated and loved. The other ladies also had an awesome time as well which made the experience that much sweeter. It was a lot of work but I would do it all over again to see the smiles on everyone’s faces as they were mingling and enjoying themselves. Definitely worth it to me! If you have any questions, I’d love to answer them, or if you have some cool ideas about what you’ve done for the moms-to-be in your life, comment below!

Leave a Reply

