Greasy Spoon Breakfast: A Moderate Necessity

Confession: I like to eat. A lot. At all times of the day. I like fast food, I like snacks, I like everything. LITERALLY. But I also like fruits and veggies and all of the healthy food too. So I say it’s ok to indulge, in moderation of course. If you are craving that ice cream sandwich, treat yourself to it. And if there are days that all you eat is junk, so be it. The important thing here is that we don’t overly indulge all day everyday. We need to make smart choices when we are able to, but that doesn’t mean we have to deprive ourselves.  We are all living the mundane day-to-day… and I say do it. Life is too short to count all your calories and live without bread! You need to enjoy what you are eating, so eat what you want.

My day-to-day is planned around my meals. I make decisions about my day depending on what times I am eating and what I will be eating. My breakfast jumpstarts my day before I get out the door for my daily commute. My lunch gives me a break from my students so I look forward to the quiet time. My dinner is a time to connect with my fiancé and check in about our days and plan our weekends.  So why wouldn’t I choose to eat what makes me happy in those moments? There isn’t a lot of time in the day that is dedicated solely to you or your loved ones. You have to eat to survive which means you need to make time to do that. So I say make it count, in all ways. In conversation, in what you are eating. Enjoy the company, enjoy the food, enjoy the all around energy that circulates between you and your eating mates. Allow yourself to be free of restraint, moderately, and indulge in the necessity. 

We live in an era where healthy eating is being pushed at an all time high, but unhealthy eating and fast food joints are at our fingertips. There is a constant angel and devil conflict going on in my head. So sometimes I succumb to my cravings, and I am not afraid to admit that or to say I enjoy it. I am not going to claim that I am an extremely healthy eater because I am far from it, but I do make good choices alongside the bad. My point here is that sometimes we just need a good greasy spoon breakfast to get our day started. Diet and exercise go hand in hand, eat what you want (in moderation) and get in a workout to even out the odds.

We are fortunate to have access to diet and exercise tips at our fingertips. A simple click and follow on Twitter or Instagram will connect us with recipes and workouts that will burn calories faster than you can swallow them. Our younger generation is growing up in an era where this is the norm. Celebrities and fitness gurus are constantly sharing their knowledge and tips about what renders a “healthy lifestyle”. Plus let’s be honest, the younger you are the faster your metabolism is working anyway. So not only are healthy choices being “made easier” for them, but the calories aren’t sticking in the same way. I think what’s important is that our youth makes healthy decisions but also doesn’t become too wrapped up in this. Social media creates an unrealistic goal for our youth and that is why I think they need to indulge in moderation as well. Our kids need to be enjoying their lives instead of comparing themselves of their Instagram and Twitter followings. We lived in an era before this health kick really took off and we turned out a-ok!

What do you think? I’d love to hear your comments below!

One thought on “Greasy Spoon Breakfast: A Moderate Necessity

Leave a Reply

